Mini Mindfulness Break for December 09, 2020

Dear *[FNAME]*:
How to Practice Sympathetic Joy

In the Buddha’s teachings, sympathetic joy or being happy for another’s happiness (Pali: mudita) is one of the four brahmaviharas, the four highest qualities of the heart. In recent years, the other three–loving-kindness, compassion, and equanimity–have received quite a lot of attention from practitioners, researchers, and the press alike. But sympathetic joy has gotten little attention. How can that be? Shouldn’t joy be the most appealing of the heart qualities? Not necessarily. Traditionally it is often referred to as the most difficult of the four. Sympathetic joy is complicated.

– Christiane Wolf, Lion’s Roar

Read More Mini Mindfulness Breaks
Click here to learn how you can receive a 30 minute Mindfulness Break in your home.
Guided meditation Bundle

Guided meditation Bundle

May you be free from suffering and the causes of suffering!

All my best,

Jerome Freedman, PhD

Instagram facebook pinterest twitter tumblr linkedin
Copyright © 1996-2018, Jerome Freedman, Ph. D., All Rights Reserved
%d bloggers like this: